The Pie Hole – What’s Missing Here?

28 Feb

Seems like a pretty simple recipe for greatness: hipster neighborhood, social media marketing, previews at summer food events, AND PIE! Shouldn’t this be the greatest thing ever?

20120301-182203.jpg

I was really excited about this one. Saw posts on Eater about the Pie Hole’s imminent arrival next to Wurstkurche and I was immediately excited, even though I knew nothing of the ability of these people to deliver delicious pie. I started checking their Twitter feed every day (even though I think Twitter is stupid). This was my most anticipated restaurant opening of 2011.

I went opening day and I’ve been back a couple times since. Honestly, I can’t figure out why I don’t love this place.

20120227-203021.jpg

Here’s the Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel pie – maybe ripped off from the Momofuku Milk Bar Take 5 pie. It’s definitely good. But honestly, how could chocolate, PB, and pretzels not be pretty good? It falls just short of being something I would think about again. And it’s really small. And it’s $6.

That pretty much sums up how I feel about the Pie Hole. It looks like it’s going to be great, tastes pretty good, and costs a little more than it should. Unfortunately, that all adds up to slight disappointment.

20120228-152941.jpg

Here’s another example – the cranberry and almond pie. Crust is decently flaky and buttery, the tartness of the cranberry is balanced by a decent level of sweetness. Should be love, winds up as like.

20120228-153207.jpg

Here’s a pop tart filled with apple butter. Cute, right? Looks like a pop tart – how could a hipster refuse? But again, it tastes pretty good, but I was left feeling like it was so small and still $5.

I don’t know. Maybe this was just a case of mismanaged expectations. Maybe I was expecting some idealized pie portal to Couer D’Couers. Maybe if this were just another cupcakery I would have been satisfied and made the Pie Hole a regular stop. Maybe it’s my fault.

But they made it so easy to fall in love at first sight . . .

20120301-182505.jpg

Leave a Reply

