The Pie Hole – a Slice for National Pi Day

15 Mar

20130315-071256.jpg
In celebration of 3/14, National Pi Day, I ventured back to the Pie Hole, a place I had wanted to love but found so disappointing.

Here’s the maple custard pie. Does it look like a creme brûlée? That’s because it is basically a maple syrup flavored creme brûlée. I found it a bit too sweet, but the flavor was good.

I don’t know what they were thinking with this giant crust, which hardened into something like a hard pretzel. Maybe they were trying to match the over-thickness of the creme part.

20130315-071321.jpg
In any case, I am trying to give the Pie Hole another chance. I was probably initially put off by what I thought were prices 25% too high. But with some time to think about it, and having bought a lot of subpar $5 pastries, I figured that I should just accept that I want to pay $4 and they want to charge me $6-$7, and then judge their pies on the merits of their flavor.

The Pie Hole
714 Traction Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90013
213-537-0115

Leave a Reply

