Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookie Mix? At Target? 

18 May


Pigs fly.

 

I didn’t mean to spend hundreds of dollars on compost cookies. But a few years ago, I went to Christina Tosi’s book signing at Chego and I really wanted a slice of crack pie so I spent $35 on her Momofuku Milk Bar book. Roy Choi was there shaking hands and handing out compost cookies. I got a slice of crack pie and a slice of the candy bar pie.

It was a magical night.

Anyways, having paid $35 for a cookbook, I thought I should actually cook from it. So I read her instructions, and concluded that I should buy a stand mixer ($250), a $50 kitchen scale, and a bunch of exotic ingredients: glucose, milk powder, dehydrated corn, gelatin sheets, acetate strips.

I made dozens of cookies and a handful of pies. They turned out great and took a lot of time.

Now I find out you can buy a simple mix that only requires a bag of chips, some pretzels, and a hand mixer.



Anyways, these compost cookies turned out surprisingly good. They lacked the signature flatness and chewiness of the originals. But the flavor was 80% there. And it was much easier to make. 

Now, if you come over and I only sort of like you, I can just make these easy compost cookies and then lie and say I went whole hog slaving away over the stand mixer.

2 Responses to “Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookie Mix? At Target? ”

  1. roamingpursuits May 19, 2015 at 5:08 am #

    This looks tasty.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Intelligentsia at Target — In Related News, Pigs Fly | Fooddouche's Blog - March 11, 2016

    […] may not be the biggest surprise ever at Target, but it’s close. You can now buy Intelligentsia coffee at Target. It’s in the aisle […]

Leave a Reply

