McDonald’s Fried Apple Pies Are Back! — At Least in SoCal. For now.

4 Aug


Holy moley! In the biggest under-the-radar-news in the history of fooddouchery, McDonald’s quietly brought back deep-fried pies!

1992 was a dark year. “Achy Breaky Heart” topped the charts for a stretch. Microsoft Windows 3.1 launched the era of the Blue Screen of Death. And McDonald’s made the fateful decision to take their apple and cherry pies out of the fryer and into the oven. I lost 30 pounds the following year, but I think I lost a little bit of my soul.

But without any fanfare, the fried pies are staging a comeback here in Southern California. I can’t confirm the extent of the rollout; news on this has been super scarce. It appears to be some test marketing by McD to see how the return of deep fried goodness would be received. The limited info I got from Googling suggests it is only in SoCal and only through the end of the year.

If you can hear me, McD Corporate: “You had me at deep-fried.”

You can see the bubbly goodness. This is the sign that an ordinary, forgettable menu offering has been magically transformed into the best 79 cents you’ll spend all week. Seriously, if they had priced it at $5, I still would have bought two.

I found this at a gas station McDonald’s on the Westside. I wouldn’t have even noticed it since they really didn’t advertise it. I just happened to spot a sign on the pie dispenser that said they were fried again.

Oh, and the second pie is their “seasonal” flavor, peach!  Don’t get too excited.  It’s not fresh peach.  But it makes for a nice little change.  I’ll be curious to see what other seasonal flavors they try.

Well, the good news is that now I have a reason (other than breakfast) to go to McDonald’s more than once a year. The bad news is that I’m going to gain back that 30 pounds I lost in 1993.

One Response to “McDonald’s Fried Apple Pies Are Back! — At Least in SoCal. For now.”

  1. Benny Bam Bam August 5, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

    That is awesome. Hook me up.

Leave a Reply

