Roy Choi on Munchery 

15 Sep


Roy Choi is becoming the new queen of omnimedia. He’s now up to at least 5 restaurants, 4 food trucks, a consulting gig (3 Worlds Cafe), a sponsorship deal with Spam (the dream!), and a soon-to-be bonafide fast-food chain (although sorry to say I’m not expecting it to blow up beyond the couple they have planned).

Now, he’s testing the waters on home delivery with Munchery. (Yes, you can get Chego delivered if you live in the service area, but it’s pretty small for now.)

So, how did I feel about putting American cheese in my ramen?

Delivery was a snap. Open it up and wtf. Seriously, Sapporo Ichiban dry noodles. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn’t exactly expecting to have to do REAL COOKING.

And, yes, there is an actual slice of American cheese here. No, it is not gourmet in any way. It is the real deal. Roy has been doing this at the Line Hotel for a couple years, but this was my first time trying it.

So, at first I was a bit nonplussed. I was wondering if I just got bamboozled into paying $10 (plus delivery fees) for a slice of American cheese and instant ramen that I’d have to make myself. But I shouldn’t have worried. Roy knows what he’s doing.

Yes, the noodles probably are just Sapporo Ichiban noodles taken out of the package. And the base of the soup probably is from an instant ramen packet (probably one of the better Korean brands). But they added a great shredded shortrib to it. Sesame seeds and scallions round it out.

And then the big surprise: the eggs were soft-boiled! Perfectly. I’m sure they did it in an immersion circulator so they could do 100 at a time, but it was a perfect chef move.

When you put it all together, it comes out like this. Too salty, for sure, but the cheese really does work well with the spicy broth and the shortrib and egg.

The kimchi fried rice was a little more hit-and-miss. It came with two of the great soft-boiled eggs. That’s good, but I miss having the egg actually fried into the rice. The kimchi flavor of the rice was great. But the most exciting part of the dish was the most disappointing: the pork belly. At Chego, they put a great sear on the pork belly, so you feel a little better about chowing down on pure pieces of fat. But this was not done that way, so you it tastes pretty fatty. Still good, but not great.

Anyways, would I do it again? Sure. It’s maybe a bit expensive considering the same price gets you Chego bowls. But delivered to your house? That’s worth the extra cost.

Leave a Reply

